National Health & Safety Administrator (NHSA)

The National Health & Safety Administrator (NHSA) designation was designed by the Canadian Federation of Construction Safety Associations (CFCSA) to give recognition to an individual who has attained a minimum standard in their safety knowledge and experience and have less than  three (3) years field experience.

To qualify for the HCSAS NHSA designation, the applicant must:

  • Complete all mandatory courses plus any two electives
  • Complete HCSAS NHSA application, include copies of certifications, proof of basic proficiency
  • Apply and successfully pass the HCSAS NHSA Qualifying Exam with 75%.
  • Upon successful completion of the NHSA exam, an NHSA Code of Ethics must be agreed to, signed, dated, with the original copy being submitted to the office

The Mandatory courses for the HCSAS NHSA designation are as follows:

  • Confined Space Entry & Rescue Awareness
  • HCSAS Auditor Training Program</spa
  • Ground Disturbance Level 2
  • Leadership for Safety Excellence
  • Principles of Health & Safety Management
  • Standard First Aid Level A, B, or C (St. John and Canadian Red Cross accepted)
  • Supervisor Training in Accident Reduction Techniques
  • WHMIS Train the Trainer GHS

The Elective (minimum 2) courses for the HCSAS NHSA designation are as follows:

  • Hoisting & Rigging Safety
  • Flag Person TTT
  • Fall Protection

Please complete and submit the NHSA Application form along with all required supporting documentation to

(Application fees may apply)

NHSA Application Form