National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO)

The National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO) designation was designed by the Canadian Federation of Construction Safety Associations (CFCSA) to give recognition to an individual who has attained a minimum standard in their safety knowledge and experience with a minimum of three (3) years field experience.

To qualify for the HCSAS NCSO designation, the applicant must:

  • Complete all mandatory courses plus any two electives
  • Complete HCSAS NCSO application, include copies of certifications, proof of basic proficiency (toolbox meetings, investigations, near misses/incidents, accidents and/or inspections)
  • Provide evidence that they have a minimum of three (3) years experience in the heavy civil construction/safety industry by providing a letter from the employer(s) stating the term of employment and job duties
  • Apply and successfully pass the HCSAS NCSO Qualifying Exam with 75%.
  • Upon successful completion of the NCSO exam, an NCSO Code of Ethics must be agreed to, signed, dated, with the original copy being submitted to the office

The Mandatory courses for the HCSAS NCSO designation are as follows:

  • Confined Space Entry & Rescue Awareness
  • HCSAS Auditor Training Program
  • Ground Disturbance Level 2
  • Leadership for Safety Excellence
  • Principles of Health & Safety Management
  • Standard First Aid Level A, B, or C (St. John and Canadian Red Cross accepted)
  • Supervisor Training in Accident Reduction Techniques
  • WHMIS Train the Trainer GHS

The Elective (minimum 2) courses for the HCSAS NCSO designation are as follows:

  • Hoisting & Rigging Safety
  • Flag Person TTT
  • Fall Protection

Please complete and submit the NCSO Application form along with all required supporting documentation to

(Application fees may apply)

NCSO Application Form