Cala-Ace Mutual Recognition Agreement

Broad Agreement Suomeksi
September 13, 2021
Cape Breton University Collective Agreement
September 13, 2021

This agreement represents a decade of negotiations that place transatlantic recognition of professional remuneration under the umbrella of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), a free trade agreement between Canada, the European Union and its member states. The Architects` Council of Europe (ACE) and the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authority (CALA) have submitted to the CETA MRA Committee a joint recommendation on the mutual recognition of professional qualifications in architecture, in accordance with Article 11 of CETA. To support this joint recommendation, we are invited to provide guidance on the economic value of the ASM project; – the compatibility of the rules on the approval, licensing, operation and certification of architects. 2. RECOGNITION OF FOREIGN EVIDENCE. Architectural services The European Community and Canada have worked to improve access to architecture, engineering and integrated engineering, first through the WTO GATS negotiations and then through the CETA negotiations. The difficulty in exporting these services lies in the fact that, although the projects and plans are viable, the provision of architectural services also requires familiarization with local conditions, cultures and needs, as well as on-site visits and consultations. This is also the case where professionals are often required to temporarily enter abroad or create a local present. The free access of architects and the ability to set up a local presence are very important. Service providers tend to face additional “below the border” barriers due to the complexity of national rules, such as the recognition of professional qualifications, licensing and qualification requirements, and procedures preventing foreign professionals from providing their services. At present, there is no harmonised obligation for the 28 EU Member States to recognise diplomas from third countries: everyone can choose whether or not to do so.

A well-planned and managed accession regime between the EU and Canada, as set out in CETA, will allow both economies to exploit complementarities in their labour markets and the market access granted by CETA will make a significant difference for architectural service providers. Mobility architecture is a mobile profession, both within the EU and in Canada, due to the automatic recognition of certificates that exist in these legal systems, both in the 28 Member States of the European Union and in the provinces and territories of Canada. At the end of 2013, the EU updated and modernised Directive 2005/36/EC on the recognition of professional qualifications. This Directive shall apply to all nationals of Member States who wish to pursue a regulated profession in a Member State other than that in which they acquired their professional qualifications, either as a self-employed person or as an employed person. It grants automatic recognition of the professional title of architect on the basis of harmonised minimum training requirements, in accordance with the Directive, and also contains rules on the qualifications of third-country nationals. The main innovation of the Directive is the new rules to facilitate the provision of services, namely the right of a national of one Member State to practise temporarily and occasionally his profession in another Member State without having to apply for recognition of qualifications. .